Feeling Human Again

Here’s the thing about routines. When they become monotonous they can tend to drain you and make you feel a little lost.

Lately I don’t know what it is. I don’t feel nostalgic. That’s not quite the word for it, so maybe “lost” is a proper way to term it.

I am so busy but not in the creative way that gives me a sense of… well, me. I’m busy with the necessary, but perhaps not inspiring aspects of my life.

Tonight I’ve decided that I’m going to take a page from those tumblr posts, those tweets, those bucket list memes, and make a list of my own to get done.

My one rule is that I can’t put things on this list that are part of my anxious day to day thoughts. For example, I’m not going to put “Return books to the library, go to the DMV, schedule doctors appointment…” You get it, right?

Instead, it’s going to include things like:

-Take a walk all the way around the lake right outside your window (I’ve lived here for 5 months and I’ve only seen it from afar)

-Spend an evening in the outdoor hot tub

-Take a blanket out and watch the stars on a clear night

Still getting the picture?

I seem to always have time to worry about the things that NEED to get done, so I’m hoping that by making this list, I’ll be able to find myself, feel peace, and feel more connected to the creative and whimsical part of me.

Leave a Reply

